The South of England Men's Lacrosse Association (SEMLA) was founded on 15th March 1882, and is part of England Lacrosse. SEMLA is the organising body for men's lacrosse in Southern England and Wales.

Please note, some universities only have teams in the BUCS lacrosse leagues.

To find information on women's lacrosse please visit the South East Women's Lacrosse Association (SEWLA).


The season runs from October to April, with a break over Christmas. There are three main competitions: League, Flags (a knockout competition), and the end of season Six-a-sides.

League and Flags matches are normally played over four 20-minute quarters, and according to the England Lacrosse rules.

Information on Southern Box Lacrosse is on their website.


The League has had various formats throughout its history, but as of 2018-19 the format is:

A "SEMLA League" sees the 21 top ranked teams playing across three division of 7 teams; Premier Division, Division 1 and Division 2. Below that the South of England divides into four; West (South), West (North), East (South) and East (North). This halves the greatest distance between any two teams in the lower regional divisions.

A parallel "SEMLA Local League" sees the South of England divided into smaller regions. The intention, where possible, is to have most teams within one hour's travel time. The Local Leagues will encourage new club growth and university team participation, through reduced costs and travel commitments.

Below are 2 maps which detail the Leagues - click the map to enlarge.

Points are awarded as follows: 4 for a win, 3 for a draw, 2 for a loss, 0 if a game is conceded, and -1 if a game is conceded within 24 hours. League tables are ordered by points, then goal average (goals for divided by goals against). League winners and promotion/relegation for teams on the same points are decided by results between those teams.

For the SEMLA League 2 teams are promoted/relegated between the Premier Division, Division 1 and Division 2. Two teams will be relegated from Division 2 into the regional leagues, and winners of the top regional leagues will enter play-offs to decide who is promoted to Division 2. Within the regional divisions it is 1 up/1 down within the regions.

Within the SEMLA Local League 1 team is promoted/relegated within the region.


There are three Flags (knockout) competitions : Senior, Intermediate, and Minor, with teams placed in each competition depending on their ranking, with the best teams in the Senior Flags etc.. Depending on the season, there may also be a ripple-down' for 1st round losers, where they are entered into the lower Flags competition. There may also be Plate competions, again ranked Intermediate and/or Minor. Prior to 2013/14 the Plate was for losers of the first round of the Flags, but after that the Intermediate and Minor Plate were split into East and West, and were competed for by all teams, with the Flags then being played between the winners of the East and West Plate.


The Six-a-sides is a single day tournament, with smaller pitches, and short games with commonly 5 or 7 minute halves. The rules are standard English Lacrosse rules with some differences. The tournament is usually split into Senior, Intermediate and Minor competitions along the same lines as the Flags, but this may vary. The format also varies, but there is usually a round robin group stage to seed the teams, followed by a knockout phase.